Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

The Summoning – Spotlight & Review


The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday Canada ( Jul 1 2008 )
  • ISBN-10: 0385665342
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385665346
  • ( From Back & Inside Cover )

    Chloe Saunders used to have a relatively normal life.

    But Now she finds herself in the middle of some really strange situations:

    • She suddenly starts seeing dead people.
    • She gets locked up in a group home for unstable teens.
    • The group home isn’t what it seems…

    My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

    All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

    Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? It’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House… before it’s skeletons come back to haunt me.”

    Random House was kind enough to send me an ARC of this book, the first in the Darkest Powers trilogy. I quote Kelley Armstrong “Darkest Powers is a young adult urban fantasy trilogy.  It’s set in the same universe as my Otherworld series, but with entirely new characters.”

    I am a fan of all things Kelley Armstrong, and her new foray into the young adult urban fantasy genre is no exception! I flat out loved this book and can’t wait for the next in the trilogy, The Awakening which is scheduled to be released May 2009.

    Chloe Saunders is your everyday “normal” teen, until she starts seeing ghosts, and not your “needs help crossing to the other side” ghosts, but truly terrifying ones. This story is an awesome tale and told in a way that really draws you in so that you can relate to exactly how it must feel to go through these experiences. I was completely immersed in the world and couldn’t put the book down!

    This first book in the trilogy sets the “world” up, takes you on a rollercoaster ride of experience and emotions, has great plot twists, scares you along with the characters, and leaves you wanting more, More, MORE at the end. I personally, found it to be one of the higher calliber of writing in the young adult books that I’ve read. Bravo Ms. Armstrong, Bravo!  

     

    August 8, 2008 - Posted by | Reviews | , , , , ,

    2 Comments »

    1. Lucky you getting a review copy! This is one at the top of my to buy list, when I am allowed to buy books again…

      Comment by lenore | August 19, 2008 | Reply

    2. Thanks! I am ever so grateful when I receive review copies. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | August 24, 2008 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

