Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Sucks To Be Me – Spotlight & Review


Sucks To Be Me by Kimberly Pauley

  • Publisher: Mirrorstone ( Aug 26 2008 )
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786950285
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786950287
  • ( From Publisher)

    “Mina Hamilton’s parents want her dead. (Or undead to be precise.) They’re vampires, and like it or not, Mina must decide whether to become a vampire herself. But Mina’s more interested in hanging out with best friend Serena and trying to catch the eye of the too-hot-for-high-school Nathan Able than in the vampire training classes she’s being forced to take. How’s a girl supposed to find the perfect prom date and pass third-year French when her mom and dad are breathing down her neck–literally?”

    ( From Back Cover)

    Why It Sucks to Be Me…

    1. My parents are feaks. Sure, every teenager says that. But I know for a fact mine are bloodsucking freaks.

    2. As if high school wasn’t bad enough, now I have to go to vampire classes with a bunch of weirdos who actually want to drink blood.

    3. Then there’s my complete inability to talk in complete sentences around cute boys. (I.E. Nathan. He probably thinks I’ve got a speech impediment or something.)

    4. And I can’t tell my best friend Serena about any of this.

    5. But the absolute worst thing is that some editor at Mirrorstone found this stupid journal I wrote and now the whole world will find out what happened when my parents forced me to decide whether I want to be a vampire! Please don’t read this book, it’s just embarrassing… ”

    Mina Hamilton is your everyday teenager, thinking about the usual things that teenage girls do (i.e. boys & school), and the not so usual (i.e. her vampire parents.) She gets slammed with a life-changing decision and not a lot of time to make it!

    I found this book to be funny while dealing with the paranormal and the main character is spunky and a little snarky which made for a fun, light read. The vampires aren’t too “dark” and the teens are full of life and quirkiness. A serious decision is made and we go through it with this extremely likable character.

    I received this book from Library Thing Early Reviewers and it was a fun read. It’s a Young Adult Paranormal Romance about vampires. This is Kimberly Pauley’s first book and I hope to see some more books from this author because she’s got a great sense of humor and a catchy style of writing.

    August 13, 2008 - Posted by | Reviews | , , , , ,

    7 Comments »

    1. Glad you liked it! 🙂

      Comment by kimpauley | August 13, 2008 | Reply

    2. Hi Kim,

      Thanks for stopping in and you are welcome! I really enjoyed reading your book. 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | August 14, 2008 | Reply

    3. I keep seeing this book about and keep looking for it…but I haven’t found a copy yet. I don’t think it is out here yet…

      Comment by Amber | August 18, 2008 | Reply

    4. Can’t wait until August 26th!

      Comment by lenore | August 19, 2008 | Reply

    5. Hi Amber!

      The release date is August 26th here, so hopefully you’ll be able to get it soon over there.

      Comment by sidhevicious | August 24, 2008 | Reply

    6. Hi Lenore,

      Glad to see you’re excited to get it. 🙂 I always get excited when books I’ve been waiting for are finally out.

      Comment by sidhevicious | August 24, 2008 | Reply

    7. I’ve officially kicked off the book launch party now — you and all your readers are invited! See http://kimberlypauley.com/2008/08/26/the-official-sucks-to-be-me-book-launch-par-tay/ for more details! Lots of stuff to give away! 🙂

      Comment by kimpauley | August 26, 2008 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

