Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Hunter’s Prayer – Spotlight & Review


hunters-prayer1Hunter’s Prayer by Lilith Saintcrow

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 2nd edition, revised edition ( Sep 1 2008 )
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316001767
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316001762
  • (From Back Cover)

    Jill Kismet Is In Trouble

    Another night on the Nightside…An ancient evil looms over Santa Luz. Prostitutes are showing up dead and eviscerated. And Jill Kismet just might be able to get her revenge against an old enemy.

    There’s just one problem. Someone wants Jill dead – again. And if they have to open up Hell itself to kill her, they will.

    Sometimes, even when you’re Jill Kismet, you don’t have a prayer…”

    If you’re a Lilith Saintcrow fan, then this second book in the Jill Kismet series does not disappoint! I really like the character depth that is simutaneously revealed along side a rip-roaring ride of dark and gritty urban fantasy at it’s best. Paranormal elements mixed in with mystery, romance, extreme danger and so many themes it’s amazing.

    A master of her craft, Ms. Saintcrow has an uncanny ability to not only put you inside the protagonist’s “head”, but to make you “feel” every thought, emotion, pain, triumph, relief, hope, fear and joy that Jill Kismet experiences, and have you rooting for her and Saul all the way.

    I will give a “little bit of gore described” warning, so if watching the morgue scenes on CSI is too much for you, then be prepared, but I find that it adds to the “reality” that is Jill Kismet’s world. I, for one, am really anticipating the next book in this series, Redemption Alley, (I can’t find a release date for it yet!?).

    BUY

    picture-or-video-10625picture-or-video-10625picture-or-video-10625picture-or-video-10625

    November 22, 2008 - Posted by | Reviews | , , ,

    9 Comments »

    1. CSI definitely squicks me.

      Comment by Liviania | November 22, 2008 | Reply

    2. LOL, me too! I usually look away when they’re showing the morgue scenes or the camera inside the body parts. EWWW. :p
      But I get through the descriptions in the books if it’s really good writing and Lilith’s is awesome.

      Comment by sidhevicious | November 23, 2008 | Reply

    3. Glad to hear it. I just got the first book in this series and was wondering how the sequel was compared to the first. I had read her Dante Valentine series, but I only really enjoyed the first two books. Have you read those yet?

      Comment by Shartyrant | November 23, 2008 | Reply

    4. Love CSI and I usually don’t have to turn my head. What does that say about me??

      Lilith Saintcrow is an excellent writer and I look forward to reading Hunter’s Prayer!

      Comment by Patricia | November 23, 2008 | Reply

    5. I like this series, but it hasn’t made me love it in the way that I love Dante Valentine. I will read the series until it’s done in the hope that it makes me love it like I do Dante.

      Comment by scooper | November 23, 2008 | Reply

    6. Hi Shar,
      I’ve read the first three in the Dante Valentine series, and have been meaning to get to the last 2. I have them here in my mammoth TBR piles.
      I really liked the second Kismet book, it really builds on the first one and does a lot more character development. Of course, the action is non-stop, as always, and I was lovin it!

      Comment by sidhevicious | November 24, 2008 | Reply

    7. Hi Patricia,
      It says that you have a stronger stomach than I my friend! 😀

      Comment by sidhevicious | November 24, 2008 | Reply

    8. Hi Scooper,
      I’m a fan of both series and looking forward to reading some of her other books as well. I really like her writing style.

      Thanks for popping by to all you ladies! 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | November 24, 2008 | Reply

    9. I noticed on Lilith’s blog that Redemption Alley is planned for August 2009

      Comment by SciFiGuy | December 14, 2008 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

