Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

A Letter…


Dear Blog,

I am writing to explain my shameful negligence these last few weeks. The month of December was, as it is for most, a busy month for me. I had two family birthday’s, Christmas, New Year’s and another family birthday on January 2nd, so, it was a bit hectic to say the least. I’m sure you can understand the lack of posting for this reason. Here’s my cat, Nemo, doing his “nobody can see me under the tree” impression.  The glowing eyes didn’t give him away at all…. really! LOL

014

I also was, in the mean-time, bitten by the TWILIGHT bug, but I’ll start from the beginning. I had, of course, read all 4 books in Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series as they were released. I really enjoyed them and recommended them to family and friends. When I heard that the movie was coming out, I definitely wanted to see it! I am not usually one to go and see movies in the theater and especially not in the first week or two. I’m not a fan of having the back of my seat kicked for two hours, or of listening to teenagers talk/giggle/text/go in and out, etc while the movie is playing. It’s a fair statement to say that I make it to the theater about once a year to see a movie, and it’s always during the week, a couple of weeks after it’s been released. I’m more of a buy the DVD and watch it at home kinda gal.

So, November 21st came and went, and I read several stories online about girls screaming through the whole movie, how packed the theatre was, and several “loved it/hated it” posts. I continued to read these stories for a couple of weeks and considered it a good call on my part to wait to see it. My older sister also wanted to see it, so we decided to go, but the night before we had planned to go, I was telling my best-friend that we were finally going. She offered to go that night with me and even offered to pay… like I was going to say no? I don’t think so! So December 12th, off we went. I think this picture will say what I thought of it better than mere words.

017

Yes, that’s 8 theater tickets you’re looking at, all mine, as well as the Official Movie Companion and a Twilight Tribute magazine. I have never, and I mean NEVER, been to see a movie this many times! It’s crazy! And I still want to see it again, lol. My sister and I went the next night. She loved it too. We went again the next week and still wanted to go again. My mom couldn’t figure out why we were both so nuts about this film, so now she wanted to go and watch it to see what all the fuss was about. Now I think it’s pertinent to let you all know that I am 30-something years old, my sister is closer to 40 and my mom is 62-ish, lol. We’re in no way close to being impressionable, easily-swayed, teenagers. My mother has never been a fan of vampires, paranormal romance or urban fantasy. Umm… yeah… my mother has been 5 times to see it!!! My sister 3 times, me – 8 times, my best friend 4 times and her 16 year old daughter 5 times. Crazy huh? LOL  My mom asked for the first book, Twilight, the first night she saw it and she read all 4 books in a week. I’ve re-read the series twice since seeing the movie the first time. We’re actually tossing around the idea that there is some kind of subliminal messaging in either the movie or the soundtrack, which I also bought. We all LOVE the soundtrack too! Yup, I’m definitely leaning towards subliminal something alright.

It doesn’t hurt that the lead actor, Robert Pattinson, is hands-down, the best looking man on the planet! (Yes, I know he’s 22, he’s almost 23.  Think Demi & Ashton people, lol, and he has said that he likes older women, so there! I can still dream.) Both in or out of character, he is just stunning. See for yourself…

      Out Of Charactertwilight15-2

twilight27-2

In Character

Apparently, if you’re a female with a heartbeat, this twilight58-2 worked! For real! I have no other viable explanation for my complete zombi-fi-cation over this Twilight addiction. I guess I now officially qualify as a Twi-Hard or Fan-Pire, lol. And I am 100% Team Edward, in case that wasn’t clear before. 😀

What did I think of the movie? Well, I usually find myself disappointed when I see a movie after reading the book. Not this time! Yes, there are quite a few changes. There are scenes from the book that I would have loved to have seen that weren’t in the movie, and scenes in the movie that weren’t in the book, but they made it work. Obviously, there’s no way to put everything that’s in a 500-something page book into a two hour movie.  I can’t wait to see New Moon in November and Eclipse when it comes out!

I thought that the casting choices they made really worked well. For me, Kristen Stewert as Bella was a good choice. I’m not sure if it was the screen-writer’s scripting or Kristen’s acting, but I found some of her scenes lacking in the dialogue department. I recall the character being much less conversationally challenged in the book. I also missed the witty sarcasm that the character of Bella has in the book. They showed a very small taste of that with the character in the movie, but I did like Kristen as Bella, all-in-all. Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen was spectacular. He not only acted the hell out of that part, he WAS Edward! The emotions that this guy can portray with just a look… WOW! Another favorite was Ashley Green as Alice Cullen. She nailed the part to a T. Love her! Jackson Rathbone as Jasper Cullen/Hale was great. He totally had a couple of Edward Scissorhands moments, but I enjoyed his portrayal. I also liked the rest of the cast and I think it was really a good idea to cast a lot of people who weren’t really well known for other parts/characters. This made it easier to accept them in these character roles.

I am not the “target audience” for either the books or movie, but from what I’m seeing online, apparently there are a lot of other women who don’t fall into that demographic and they are all huge fans of the books and movie. Go and check out the  Twilight MySpace page and read the comments to see some truly shocking comments. Some girls have been 30, 40, 100, 200 & 300 times to see the movie!! See, I’m not that bad. LOL  Yes, I’ve been bitten by the Twilight bug, and my brain has been preoccupied. The several hundred fansites of all the books, movie and characters attest to the fact that there are an awful lot of fans out there. Twilight Moms is a cool site, though the only “beings” I am mother to are my dog and cats. Another great site is Pattinson Online. You can find out more about the awesome books at Stephenie Meyer’s Website.

So, in closing, Dear Blog, I have been unfair to you by spending all my time with my new addiction. My apologies to you and my readers. It’s time to give my head a shake and get back in the game. I will endeavor to get back to posting my reviews, interviews and urban fantasy relevant news starting right now. But… if Robert Pattinson were to contact me for a date or for any reason really… I may disappear for awhile again. I’m sure you’ll understand.

January 6, 2009 - Posted by | Rambling, Reviews, Sidhe's News & Updates, Spotlight On... | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. awww… the kitty picture brings back memories… I had a cat named Shadow who just loved to sit under the tree and stare up at the lights, seriously, on her back though, staring up through the tree, having a little trip, it was very funny! She was also a master of the appear/disappear, you could call that cat and be searching everywhere and suddenly there she was, in the middle of the room in plain sight looking at you like “what, I’m right here and have been the whole time…”

    Happy New Year! Still need to see Twilight…

    Comment by Shaunesay | January 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL, my cats and my dog are always an endless source of smiles and laughs. They are truly blessings, my little fur-babies. 🙂

    Happy New Year to you as well Shaunesay!

    Comment by sidhevicious | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m spreading some love and I’ve got a post on my blog for an award for you. Check it out!

    Comment by Ruthie | January 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. Check out the post on my blog – spreading some love. There is an award for you!

    Comment by Ruthie | January 9, 2009 | Reply

  5. Twilight hasn’t even been released here yet. It should be here later on this week but I am ill so I guess I won’t get to see it till next week. I wonder if I will like it or not…

    Oh and I nominated you for an award again!

    Comment by Amber | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thank You Ruthie & Amber. You ladies and your blogs rock! I luvs ya both. 🙂

    Comment by sidhevicious | January 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

