Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Recent Movies


For a change, I’ve actually been to see a few movies lately, so I thought I would share my thoughts on them with you all. 🙂

Michael Jackson’s This Is It

I’ve been to see this movie twice and I loved it! MJ was unbelievably talented and a creative genius. He still had it at 50 years old. The movie chronicles the rehearsals from the This Is It shows that were to be in London this year. Based on the footage, the show would have been absolutely amazing! It made me sad because the full show will never happen now, and his children will never get to see him perform. He passed before his time. I was also happy because he still had his voice, his dancing and his passion and dedication to his art.

(I ask that anyone who has negative comments to make about MJ keep it to themselves. If you’re not a fan of his music, that’s fine. Everyone’s entitled to their own taste in music. But I would appreciate it if anyone who has negative things to say about him would go and find a group of your peers. It’s not here.)

 

Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince

I finally made it to the theater to see this movie and was not disappointed. It should definitely be seen on the big screen at least once, though I’ll be buying the DVD as well. Harry Potter and the rest of the characters have grown up and have to go through even more trials and life changing situations.

I’m always impressed by the quality of the HP films. The stunning scenery, sets and special effects mixed with the wonderfully rich characters that the actors portray and the situations that they’re placed in makes for an amazing movie. I’m ashamed to admit that I have yet to read the books, and yes I do have them all, but I’m loving the movies! 😀

 

 

The Twilight Saga: New Moon

If you’re a resident on the planet Earth, you know that New Moon opened on Nov 20th. I went to a 12:30pm show on Friday and it was packed, as was the show at 11:55am. The line-up outside for the movie when we came out was overwhelming. But that’s no surprise to me. (That’s why we went early. :D) And thankfully there weren’t a million squealing/tweeting teenagers to ruin the movie.

I really liked it. I’ll have to see it a couple more times to totally make up my mind, but other than the people who were in the theater with a BABY who was crying!!??, I enjoyed the movie. I thought that they did a good job of putting the story to film. As an avid reader, of course there were parts of the book that I wish had been put into the movie, but let’s be real, there’s no way to pack every detail of a 608 page book into a 2 hour movie.

I loved the addition of the werewolves and the Volturi. I don’t want to give any spoilers away for those who haven’t seen it yet. They stayed true to the book with a couple of changes that added to the visual experience. I’ll definitely be going to see it again.

November 21, 2009 - Posted by | Movies, Rambling, Sidhe's News & Updates, Spotlight On... | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Love Love Loved This Is It.

    Went to see New Moon lastnight, prior we went out to dinner. Sat down in the theatre, food poisoning insued. Came home without seeing the movie, but left the girls to watch it. BOO HIISSS. Been in bed all day.

    Comment by Pixie | November 21, 2009 | Reply

    • That sucks bigtime Nat. 😦 I hope you feel better soon and get to see the movie soon too. I’ve had food poisoning one too many times myself. Blech! You poor woman.

      Sending you virtual gravol, club soda and hugs.

      Comment by sidhevicious | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. We went to see New Moon today, waiting the week for some of the craziness to die down and also went to a really early show! We did not have a crying baby but did have a 3 or 4 year old. Luckily since I have kids at home and are around them all the time I was able to pretty much tune him out (he wasn’t mine so knowing i wasn’t responsible made it easy to just not listen to him) but he bugged other people in the theater. I thought they stuck with the book pretty well and actually liked it more than Twilight (the movie not the book).

    Comment by Jill | November 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Jill 🙂
      I just don’t understand why people think it’s ok to take a baby or toddler to a movie like this? Maybe they are too young to understand what they’re seeing, but I find it hard to believe that they can’t suffer some kind of psycholigical damage from being exposed to violence, scary images (to a child), and other adult themes so blatantly in their face on a huge screen, not to mention how loud it is in a theater!? And on top of that, they disturb other movie goers who’ve paid to be there. It’s sad. Someone at the Harry Potter movie had a 3 year old there and we went to the 10pm show!? Crazy!

      Comment by sidhevicious | November 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. I take pleasure in, cause I discovered just what I was looking for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you
    man. Have a nice day. Bye

    Comment by microcosm | June 5, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

