Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Sidhe’s News & Updates


I’ll start with some updates. 🙂

Jackie over at Literary Escapism has an excellent newsletter of New Covers, Interviews and general updates about the Urban Fantasy and Paranormal community. There are also a few contests and links to contests.

Anna over at Anna’s Book Blog has a great list of current contests that are going on around the blog-o-sphere!

Elie at Ellz Reads is hosting a 5 prize pack giveaway for the 12 Blogs of Christmas. She also has a wicked list of contest listings on her sidebar.

Nat over at Wicked Lil Pixie is hosting her 13 Wicked Days Of Christmas interviews and contests blowout, so be sure to head over there and read some awesome and hilarious interviews with authors such as Dakota Cassidy, Mark Henry, Nicole Peeler, Michelle Rowan, Jennifer Rardin and a bunch of amazing authors! (I totally love her graphic!) -“Because Evil Doesn’t Rest For The Holidays” may just be the best slogan I’ve read this year! LOL Only my “twin” could come up with this. 😀

Preternatural Reviews has posted his list of the Best of Paranormal & Urban Fantasy of 2009. Your suggestions for the list in the comments section are added.

My personal faves of 2009 include but are most definitely not limited to, and in no particular order are:

  • Nicole Peeler – Tempest Rising
  • Amanda Ashley – Immortal Sins
  • Annette McCleave – Drawn Into Darkness
  • Kimberly Frost – Barely Bewitched
  • Chloe Neill – Friday Night Bites
  • Jennifer Rardin – Bite Marks
  • Jeaniene Frost – Destined For An Early Grave
  • Rachel Vincent – Prey
  • Gena Showalter – Lords Of The Underworld Trilogy
  • Pamela Palmer – Feral Warriors Trilogy
  • Diana Pharaoh Frances – Bitter Night
  • Laurell K. Hamilton – Skin Trade
  • Charlaine Harris – Dead And Gone
  • Sherrilyn Kenyon – Bad To The Bone
  • Alyssa Day – Atlantis Unleashed & Atlantis Unmasked
  • Lilith Saintcrow – Flesh Circus & her Y.A. under Lili St. Crow – Betrayals
  • Kelley Meding – Three Days Till Dead
  • Jaye Wells – Red Headed Stepchild
  • Adrian Phoenix – In The Blood
  • Jeri Smith-Ready – Bad To The Bone
  • Nalini Singh – Angel’s Blood
  • Sandra Hill – Viking Heat
  • Judi Fennell – In Over Her Head
  • J.R. Ward – Lover Avenged
  • Richelle Mead – Blood Promise & Thorn Queen
  • Cheyenne McCray – Demons Not Included
  • Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – Beautiful Creatures
  • Beth Fantaskey – Jessica’s Guide To Dating On The Dark Side

And I could be here ALL day listing more, but these books all stood out as exceptional to me this year. There are so many more that I’ve read, that are in my TBR pile waiting to be read, and that are being released soon that I can’t wait for!! I love me some books, and lots of ’em. If you don’t believe me, here’s a pic of my TBR piles, and piles… and piles. It’s ridiculous, I know, but I keep buying MORE! 😀 (The pile is actually even bigger now as this pic is a couple moths old, lol).

My TBR books

 So what were some of your favorite books of 2009? Leave a comment!

 

 

 

December 18, 2009 - Posted by | On My Bookshelf, Rambling, Sidhe's News & Updates, Uncategorized | , ,

18 Comments »

  1. WOW…what an impressive TBR mountain!!! So organized too. I would love to just sit and look through those stacks and see what good reads you have.

    I’ve been in a Sookie Stackhouse mood lately, so I would have to say that Charlaine Harris has been one of my favorite authors this year. Plus a whole lot more!!

    Comment by Kara | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Oooohhh Eric! Sighs….. I am a HUGE Charlaine Harris fan at any time of the year, day or night! Definitely a re-read and repeat series, lol.

      Heck, I’d like to take a day to sit down and sort though the mammoth pile myself! I’m thinking of alphabetizing them so I have a general idea of what books are where in there.

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Holy shit Twin! LOL

    Comment by Natasha (Wicked Lil Pixie) | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Yep, I know, LMAO. It’s a sickness, but I DO NOT NEED AN INTERVENTION!

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. OMG – your TBR piles!!!

    I’m incredibly honored to have written one of your favorites for this year AND to have made it out of the TBR pile! That alone seems amazing. 🙂

    Have a great holiday – hope you get LOTS of time to read!

    Comment by Judi | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Judi!

      I wish you an awesome holiday too.

      I loved in Over Her Head and can’t wait to read Wild Blue Under & Catch Of A Lifetime. They’re on my wishlist and I’m crossing my fingers for some Chapters gift certificates for Christmas. 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. Wow! Thanks for finding my book in that giant TBR pile and for the lovely mention! With all those books still waiting, I hope you get plenty of leisure time over the holidays to read. 🙂

    Comment by Annette McCleave | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Annette!

      I really enjoyed DID and can’t wait for Bound By Darkness. Loved the characters! I want a Lachlan of my own now. 😀

      Happy Holidays!

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks for the shout out!

    I love your list of favorites. I adored the Kimberly Frost series, it doesn’t get nearly enough attention.

    OMG-You need to join my chalenge, Bottoms Up. Commit to taking 2-3 books a month off the bottom of your tbr, you know the ones that keep getting burried. LOL

    Elie

    Comment by Elie (Ellz Readz) | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Your welcome!

      I hear you about Kimberly Frost’s series, it’s awesome!

      I’ll pop over and have a look at the challenge. Thanks for asking me. 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. I had to blow up the image of your TBr to get a better look. (HA) I was gonna say you’ve got a problem sister, but then I looked in my closet. NOt enough hours in a day.
    lol

    Comment by Elie (Ellz Readz) | December 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Definitely not enough hours in a day, lol. Not to mention the pesky need to sleep getting in the way of my reading time! And I do have a problem, I’ve just chosen to happily embrace it, ha ha.

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. That is a lot of books. When my MIL was alive she had over 300 books. And she could not pass up any place that sold books. LOL. She loved books! Have fun reading. I only have one for you that I can think of. Unhallowed Ground by Heather Graham. I really enjoyed this book.

    Comment by Sue Brandes | December 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the recommendation Sue!

      Ii have closer to about 3000 books kicking around between two rooms, lol. I go into a euphoric state when I’m in any place that sells books. I could get lost in there for hours, sigh… 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 19, 2009 | Reply

  8. May I just say, way to go you have a very impressive “problem”…. Reading a few at a time is the way I whittle my at times over 200 in the TBR pile down. Of course the more time spend on my keyboard on blogs and stuff cuts down on reading my books and buying more as the series I follow are released also makes the pile grow again…

    I also have happily embraced my book fetish and it will never stop, books are good friends rain, snow or shine…. Saw lots of the books have read this year on your list and some have not read or even heard of yet (too many books available for me to have them all anyway).

    I will give a shout out to the 3 books read in the Allie Beckstrom Magoc Series by Devon Monk, all did not come out this year but read them in 2009.
    Also have to put in the new series by Ilona Andrews “The Edge”, cannot imagine anyone not loving that book it was wonderful…

    Jackie B Central Texas

    Comment by Jackie B. | December 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Jackie,

      Thanks for the recommendations! I love it when I hear about an author or book that’s new to me. 😀

      I hear you about “happily embracing my book fetish”, me too!

      I hope you had a great Holiday & wish you a Happy New Year!

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 27, 2009 | Reply

  9. Woah! That’s a lot of books. .. Makes me wish i had the same amount of books in my room. Then i will NEVER leave my home EVER!!!! 😀

    Comment by E | December 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi E!

      That is one of my wishes, lol. I need an in home vacation where everyone just leaves me alone for a week or two so I can have some uninterrupted reading, sleeping, blogging time. *sighs…* That would be divine. 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | December 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

