Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Biting Nixie – Spotlight & Review


 Biting Nixie by Mary Hughes

  • Paperback: 312 pages
  • Publisher: Samhain Publishing (Nov 1 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1605044377
  • ISBN-13: 978-1605044378
  • Book Description:

    “Nitro? Meet glycerin…A Biting Love Novel

    Punk musician Nixie Schmeling is a hundred pounds of Attitude who spells authority a-n-c-h-o-r and thinks buying insurance is just one more step toward death. So she really feels played when she’s “volunteered” to run the town’s first annual fundraising festival. Especially when she finds out it’s to pay for a heavy-hitting, suit-wearing lawyer—who’s six-feet-plus of black-haired, blue-eyed sex on a stick.

    Attorney Julian Emerson learned centuries ago that the only way to contain his dangerous nature is to stay buttoned up. He’s come from Boston to defend the town from a shady group of suits…and an even shadier gang of vampires. But his biggest problem is Nixie, who shreds his self-control.

    Nixie doesn’t get why the faphead shyster doesn’t understand her. Julian wishes Nixie would speak a known language…like Sanskrit. Even if they manage to foil the bloodthirsty gang, what future is there for a tiny punk rocker and a blue-blooded skyscraper?

    And that’s before Nixie finds out Julian’s a vampire…

    Product Warnings

    Contains more eye-popping sex, ear-popping language and gut-popping laughs than can possibly be good for you. And vampires. Not sippy-neck wimps, but burning beacons of raw sexuality—this means passionate blood-heating, violent bloodletting, and fangy bloodsucking. Oh, and cheese balls. Those things are just scary.” 

    My Thoughts:

    The cover and back cover blurb initially attracted me to this book and I was not dissapointed. This book delivers exactly what the blurb and product warnings promise! I laughed my head off and totally got caught up in Nixie’s world. I fell for Julian while she did and I loved every second along the way. Nixie is a unique character and I had a blast reading her and Julian’s story. This kind of book is what makes me love paranormal romance so much.

     

    The supporting characters were great, the plot just flew along and I’m hoping that there will be more books forth-coming about the world that Mary Hughes has created. Mary Hughes is new to me and I will definitely be following her website to see what’s next!

     

        
     
    Buy Biting Nixie at:
    Chapters
    Amazon
    January 13, 2010 - Posted by | New Releases, On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , ,

    6 Comments »

    1. I swear to goodness if the book cracks me up as much as this little post about it have to read it by myself in a back room of my house or my husband will think I am bonkers. Mary Hughes is new to me also, when visited her website found out why because do not read e-books and normally do not read about characters who are punk musicians. Keeping this one on my list to buy someday in the future when get my TBR pile down, just got in 14 books in last 2 days ordered at Christmas so that looks like it will not be happening soon!!!
      Thanks Judi you made my day with this little bit of reading and found me a new website to bookmark for a new author to me as well..

      jackie b central texas

      Comment by Jackie B. | January 13, 2010 | Reply

      • It’s definitely worth buying. I know that I’ll be re-reading it and I also laughed out loud while reading, so you may just have to hide in the back room Jackie. 😉

        Comment by sidhevicious | January 14, 2010 | Reply

    2. Oh, this looks like a fun read. That was a great review. I am adding this one to my list. Eye popping sex, eh?

      Comment by Elie (Ellz Readz) | January 13, 2010 | Reply

    3. Eye popping sex – check.
      Gut popping laughs – check.
      Wickedly fun dialogue – check.
      Hilariously sassy and quircky protagonist – check.
      Uber sexy alpha male you want to own for yourself – double check! 😀

      Comment by sidhevicious | January 14, 2010 | Reply

    4. Thank you for the review I am adding this one to my TBR pile!!

      Comment by ck.twilighter (Chasity) | January 14, 2010 | Reply

      • Hi Chasity,
        I’d love to hear what you think of it when you’ve read it. Pop by and let me know. 🙂

        Comment by sidhevicious | January 14, 2010 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

