Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Beautiful Creatures – Spotlight & Review


Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

  • Hardcover: 576 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (Dec 1 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316042676
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316042673
  • Book Description:

    “There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
    We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.

    At least, that’s what I thought.
    Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
    There was a curse.
    There was a girl.
    And in the end, there was a grave.

    Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

    Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

    In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.”

    My Thoughts:

    I was completely entranced by this novel. The descriptions of the South were so good, I felt like I was there in Gatlin with Lena & Ethan. I loved the characters, the plot, the pacing, the scenery and the story! I found it refreshing that the story was told from Ethan’s point of view and I’m crossing my fingers for another book by these two authors based in this world they’ve created. I couldn’t put it down.

    A fresh new take on the paranormal for both young adults and adults to enjoy. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. A lush, gothic teen romance to rival any and all tales already told, filled with rich atmosphere and wonderfully complex and fascinating characters.

        

    Buy Beautiful Creatures at:

    CHAPTERS

    AMAZON

    Go to the Beautiful Creatures website to find out more about the book and authors.

    January 19, 2010 - Posted by | On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , , , ,

    4 Comments »

    1. Judi,
      Okay now I know that the book needs to be read and not on the TBR pile, thanks for reminding me that I even had it. Got so many books around Christmas and then got sick with a sinus infection, allergies then no energy! It took me until today to even organize my books and lo and behold there was Beautiful Creatures in the middle of the pile. Now they are ready to read in alpha order by author where the spines can be seen so if the book entranced you it sounds like next up to read.

      jackie b central texas

      Comment by Jackie B. | January 20, 2010 | Reply

      • Oohhh I hear you on the out of control TBR pile! LOL I only have about 1000 books in mine. 😀

        I’d love to hear what you think of the book after you’ve read it. I was impressed with the book to be sure.

        Comment by sidhevicious | January 22, 2010 | Reply

    2. Ahhhhhhh!! I gotta read this!!! Thx for the review!!=)

      Comment by ck.twilighter (Chasity) | January 21, 2010 | Reply

      • Your welcome. 🙂 I’d love to hear your thoughts after you’ve read it.

        Comment by sidhevicious | January 22, 2010 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

