Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

The Turning – Spotlight & Review


 

The Turning by Brigit Zahara

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publishing
Release Date: March 30, 2010
 ISBN: 9781419927638
 
MSRP/List Price: $4.98
Our Cover Price: $2.49    


Available in Print: No

Book Description:

 

“Galeria is ready to hit the streets of L.A. for a quick snack. She is a very happy, satisfied woman—having just left her two hot vampire lovers sleeping soundly in her bed.

But their lives weren’t always so wonderful, such a long time ago in Rome. Back then Galeria was the emperor’s daughter. She wasn’t supposed to have a scorching secret affair with the beautiful and passionate Cassian, champion gladiator of Rome. Nor should she have taken comfort in the massive, marble-like arms of Atticus—Cassian’s best friend, her night chamber guard and a closet vampire—when informed of Cassian’s supposed demise.

Too late, they discover that Cassian lives. Overcome with jealousy, he challenges Atticus to a battle to the death in the arena. Galeria is caught in the middle, tormented by her feelings for these two powerful men. But a mysterious ritual changes all their lives. Forever.”

For more information visit http://brigitzahara.weebly.com/    

My Thoughts:   

I loved the movie “Gladiator”, starring Russell Crowe, when it was released and still do. I just watched it again recently. I’m also glued to HBO every Monday night to watch Spartacus, starring Andy Whitfield. Brad Pitt in Troy was awesome. I don’t know what it is about these Roman and Thracian gladiators that I find so exciting, but when I saw the description of Brigit Zahara’s The Turning, I had to read it! I was not disappointed.   

I’m not usually a fan of short stories, as I like longer, more developed tales with characters that can truly “live” in my imagination and most short stories just don’t have the time to develop that process. The Turning was the exception. Galeria, Cassian & Atticus were easy for me to “see” in my head and the passion and eroticism between them? Flaming, steamy HOT! I definitely give this short novella, The Turning, two enthusiastic thumbs up! I would also like to see Brigit Zahara develop these charcters into a full length novel or series, as I would definitely love to read more about them, thier history and their futures.    

         4.5   

Buy The Turning   

Find out more about Brigit Zahara & her books at her website.   

     

     

    

March 30, 2010 - Posted by | New Book Releases, New Releases, On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Wicked!

    I just watched Gladiator again too!!=)

    Comment by Chasity | April 7, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve watched it twice in the last month! 😀 Nevermind the being glued to Spartacus on HBO every Monday night. Hello Andy Whitfield and various other eye-candy gladiators, Woo Hoo!!

      Comment by sidhevicious | April 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

