Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Original Sin – Spotlight & Review


Original Sin by Allison Brennan

  • Mass Market Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books; Original edition (Jan 26 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345511670
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345511676
  • Book Description:

    “Haunted by chilling memories of demonic possession and murder, Moira O’Donnell has spent seven years hunting down her mother, Fiona, whose command of black magic has granted her unprecedented control of the underworld. Now Moira’s global search has led her to a small California town that’s about to become hell on earth.

    Tormented by his own terrifying past and driven by powers he can’t explain, ex-seminarian Rafe Cooper joins Moira’s dangerous quest. But Fiona is one devilish step ahead. Hungry for greater power, eternal youth, and stunning beauty, the sorceress is unleashing upon the mortal world the living incarnations of the Seven Deadly Sins.

    Together with a demonologist, a tough female sheriff, and a pair of star-crossed teenagers, Moira and Rafe are humanity’s last chance to snatch salvation from the howling jaws of damnation.”

    My Thoughts:

    This book took me awhile to get into, but it was a good read all-in-all. Good characters, good plot-line, conflict & resolution for the end of the first book in the series. The author also leaves an on-going plot-line open to keep you curious about what’s to come in the following books.

    I did enjoy the story but it didn’t blow me away. I can’t put my finger on it, but something about it felt a bit cliche or like something was missing. I hate to say that without specifying exactly what it was that struck me like that, but that’s my over-all feeling. I like the premise for the series, I liked the  depth of the characters, the pacing was good, and the conflict & resolution were also good. Nothing about this book was amazing for me. I would recommend it as maybe others would enjoy it more.

    Carnal Sin will be out on June 22nd, 2010 and Mortal Sin will be out on Nov 23rd, 2010.

           3.5

    Buy Original Sin at:

    ChaptersAmazon or Barnes & Noble

    Find out more about Allison Brennan & her books at her website.

    April 2, 2010 Posted by | On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , , | Leave a comment