Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Shade – Spotlight & Review


Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

Format:Hardcover

Published:May 4, 2010

Publisher:Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:
ISBN – 10:1416994068
ISBN – 13:9781416994060

Book Description:

“Love ties them together.
Death can’t tear them apart.
Best. Birthday. Ever. At least, it was supposed to be. With Logan’s band playing a critical gig and Aura’s plans for an intimate after-party, Aura knows it will be the most memorable night of her boyfriend’s life. She never thought it would be his last.

Logan’s sudden death leaves Aura devastated. He’s gone.

Well, sort of.

Like everyone born after the Shift, Aura can see and hear ghosts. This mysterious ability has always been annoying, and Aura had wanted nothing more than to figure out why the Shift happened so she can undo it. But not with Logan’s violet-hued spirit still hanging around. Because dead Logan is almost as real as ever. Almost.

It doesn’t help that Aura’s new friend Zachary is so understanding—and so very alive. His support means more to Aura than she cares to admit.

As Aura’s relationships with the dead and the living grow ever complicated, so do her feelings for Logan and Zachary. Each holds a piece of Aura’s heart…and clues to the secret of the Shift.”

My Thoughts:

I can’t wait for the next book! I loved the world building that Jeri Smith-Ready created for this series. Aura, Logan and Zachary are wonderfully rich characters and I was sucked into their story from the beginning. This is Jeri’s first foray into the young adult “arena” about a world in which only the young can see and talk to ghosts. She has succeeded with an immensely entertaining read that I couldn’t put down.

The sequel, Shift, is due out in May 2011. I highly recommend this book to both young adults and adults! Definitely a “grand slam homerun” of a debut YA novel.

       

Pre-Order Shade at:

ChaptersAmazon or Barnes & Noble

Find out more about Jeri Smith-Ready and her novels at her website.

April 10, 2010 - Posted by | New Covers - Release Dates, On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On..., Upcoming Releases | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I love Jeri’s writing! I cant wait for this book!\
    awesome review! =)

    Comment by Larissa | April 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Larissa! I’m so stoked about this series and I hope it does really well, so Jeri can write several more. 🙂

      Comment by sidhevicious | April 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU JUDI! Lol, sorry! I have the chance to review this Shade as well and I was absolutely stunned at how well Jeri was able to “pull me into the story!”

    Have a great day every one!
    Kate (aka YzhaBella’s BookShelf)

    Comment by Kate L @ YzhaBella's BookShelf | April 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Great minds think alike Kate! 😀

      I hope you’re having an awesome day too.

      Comment by sidhevicious | April 10, 2010 | Reply

      • Lol, of course the do!
        Thanks for the email Judi! I’m honoured to be a part of your blog roll! Do you have a button? I’d love to add yours to my “Blog central”!

        Comment by Kate L @ YzhaBella's BookShelf | April 11, 2010 | Reply

        • Nope, as far as I know, I can’t have a button for a wordpress blog that’s hosted on WordPress. I could be wrong, but I don’t know how to make a button anyways, lol. I can’t add buttons to my sidebar either, or at least I don’t know how if it is possible, so links it is for me. 🙂

          Comment by sidhevicious | April 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. Wow!! I am even more excited! I am so glad to hear that Jerri’s debut in the YA world is a success!=)

    Comment by Chasity | April 11, 2010 | Reply

    • It definitely kept me flipping the pages and I want to read the next book NOW, lol. I’m not impatient or anything, really. 😀

      Comment by sidhevicious | April 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

