Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Embers – Spotlight & Review


Embers by Laura Bickle

  • Mass Market Paperback: 359 pages
  • Publisher: Pocket; 1 edition (Mar 30 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1439167656
  • ISBN-13: 978-1439167656
  • Genre: Urban Fantasy
  • Book Description:

    Truth burns.

    Unemployment, despair, anger—visible and invisible unrest feed the undercurrent of Detroit’s unease. A city increasingly invaded by phantoms now faces a malevolent force that further stokes fear and chaos throughout the city.

    Anya Kalinczyk spends her days as an arson investigator with the Detroit Fire Department, and her nights pursuing malicious spirits with a team of eccentric ghost hunters. Anya—who is the rarest type of psychic medium, a Lantern—suspects a supernatural arsonist is setting blazes to summon a fiery ancient entity that will leave the city in cinders. By Devil’s Night, the spell will be complete, unless Anya—with the help of her salamander familiar and the paranormal investigating team—can stop it.

    Anya’s accustomed to danger and believes herself inured to loneliness and loss. But this time she’s risking everything: her city, her soul, and a man who sees and accepts her for everything she is. Keeping all three safe will be the biggest challenge she’s ever faced.”

    My Thoughts:

    I believe that this is Laura Bickle’s debut novel and can I just say WOW!! I was beyond impressed and am totally hooked on this series now. Sparks is the next one forthcoming on August 31st and I want it yesterday, lol. Now I am obviously no expert in how fire and arson investigators work, on how a fire progresses, or on elementals, but I was completely impressed with how knowledgable this author came across in her descriptions. That it was believable was my overall impression after reading Embers.

    I loved the Devil’s Night in Detroit setting, it reminded me of how much I enjoyed a similar setting in the original Crow movie starring Brandon Lee.  Anya’s familiar, Sparky, is a loveable scamp who I’m looking forward to reading about again! The Ghost Hunter crew is a great group made up of richly detailed eccentric and charismatic individuals. And last, but not least, we come to Anya… she’s a wonderfully written character who’s a whirlwind of strength, vulnerability, unique, conflicted, loyal and brave.

    I have three words for this book… I WANT MORE!

           

     Buy EMBERS at:

    ChaptersAmazonBarnes & Noble or The Book Depository

    Find out more about Laura Bickles & her books at her website.

    P.S.

    Laura also writes under the pen name of Alayna Williams and has a new book out, Dark Oracle!

    June 7, 2010 - Posted by | New Book Releases, New Releases, On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , ,

    8 Comments »

    1. Yes, I agree–a really excellent novel.

      Comment by Bernita | June 7, 2010 | Reply

    2. Devil’s Night and the Crow reminders? Wow! I’ve definitely got to pick this one up! You made it sound very interesting, especially for a debut novel, and I had no idea that the author of “Dark Oracle” and this lady were the same! You learn something new every day, eh? 😉 Great review, as always 🙂

      Comment by darkeva | June 7, 2010 | Reply

      • Thanks darkeva! I was really impressed with the book & author. Another one to add to my “auto-buy” list. 😀

        Comment by sidhevicious | June 8, 2010 | Reply

    3. Wow! I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed EMBERS. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review it. You’ve made my week! 🙂

      *You can’t see me, but I’m doing an excited happy dance!

      Comment by Laura Bickle | June 8, 2010 | Reply

      • LOL, I know all about doing the happy dance Laura, having done it myself a few times. 😀 Now you just have to rush the publisher to release Sparks earlier, ha ha.

        Comment by sidhevicious | June 9, 2010 | Reply

    4. I agree! I found her this book at my local library and thought I would give it a try. I ordered it and the sequel the next day. Still waiting to pick them up from Chapters, but I loved the first book so much that I don’t care how many she writes, I will buy them all.

      Comment by Candice | September 29, 2010 | Reply

      • Thank you so much for picking up my books, Candice! I hope you enjoy! 🙂

        Comment by Laura Bickle | September 29, 2010 | Reply

      • I know, right? Sometimes we’re lucky enough to find a book like this one that just grabs you and doesn’t let go. So unique and Laura Bickle is such a strong voice in what thankfully, is now a really popular genre. 🙂

        Comment by sidhevicious | September 30, 2010 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

