Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Is It Just Me Or…


Lately I’ve been noticing what seems to be becoming a trend in quite a few of the books I’ve read, and I’m wondering if I’m the only one who feels this way. Transitions people. I am noticing a serious lack of transitions and it throws me off when I’m reading! 😦 For those who aren’t too sure what in the heck I’m talking about, here’s the definition that I’m referring to from my Encarta Dictionary:

“grammar: linking word or phrase: a word, phrase, or passage that links one subject or idea to another in speech or writing “

Microsoft® Encarta® 2008. © 1993-2007 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Basically, what I’ve been noticing is that I’m reading along, going with the flow, following the action, the dialogue, etc., and BLAM! With no page or chapter break or any indication what-so-ever, we’re in a different scene, quite possibly with different characters. Huh? Or I’m all invested in a scene with characters who are doing/saying something, and BLAM! They’re all of a sudden doing or talking about something else. WTF is that all about? And trust me, I have flipped back to re-read and have also made sure I didn’t miss a page in there somewhere.

If it were only one or two books in a hundred, I could chalk it up to natural error in either the writing or editing, but this has been happening with alarming frequency. And not just in e-books or print, not just with new authors or small publishers. I am also not just referring to books I’ve reviewed here on the blog, as I’ve read a lot of books that I haven’t reviewed here. I’m not looking to point fingers anywhere, I’m just wondering if I’m the only one who’s noticed this?  Sound off people, I’m curious to hear your thoughts on the matter.

June 12, 2010 - Posted by | Rambling, Rant, Sidhe's News & Updates | , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Oh, weird. I’m curious to see a passage like that now. I’d think a transition like that would require at least white space. But could it be subject related? like, you know on TV shows when somebody is wondering who robbed the store, then the picture flashes to Johnny looking all innocent, and then you get this idea that Johnny robbed the store. mm. But, it it makes you look back, then it’s clearly not working!!

    Comment by Carolyn Crane | June 12, 2010 | Reply

    • No, it isn’t flash-backs or flash-forwards either. My brain has done double time trying to figure out why “it’s”, (figuratively speaking), written that way, but I’m stumped, lol. I wish I had noted the books/pages, just for myself, but when you’re on a good roll, you don’t want to stop & you think to yourself that it’s no big deal at the time. But after having come across this phenomenon more times than is reasonable, it makes one wonder what’s going on.

      Comment by sidhevicious | June 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hrm. Can’t recall seeing any like this recently. Maybe I’m reading too many in first person POV?

    Got an example…?

    -J

    Comment by Jess Haines | June 13, 2010 | Reply

    • I read mostly first person POV too and have noticed it in there as well.

      Comment by sidhevicious | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. I have read quite a few books like that lately. Drives me nuts too. I like you have to flip back a page to see if I missed something. On some of them I really feel lost throughout the book. You explained it really well. Not sure I could of.

    Comment by Sue Brandes | June 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Sue. At least we know we’re not crazy then if others notice the same thing, lol.

      Comment by sidhevicious | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. It’s not just you; I’ve been noticing this a lot lately, too. Makes me wonder if the pages are stuck together or something. I’ve even had it happen in books written in first person, which should theoretically be more difficult to do. Suddenly you’re with the character in a different place and no clue how the last predicament got resolved. Very distressing!

    Comment by Kimberly B. | June 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Bingo! Thanks for taking the time to comment Kimberly. I usually wouldn’t mention it if it were a rare occurrence as I tend to think I may be more critical than others because I a) review books and am b) a virgo, which by nature makes me a nitpick/editor, lol. But I’m seeing it more and more and wanted to know if it was only me. I sometimes wonder if my copy is missing a page!?

      Comment by sidhevicious | June 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

