Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

If I Stay – Spotlight & Review


 If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Speak; Reprint edition (April 6 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 014241543X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0142415436
  • Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
  • Book Description:

    “On a day that started like any other…

    Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the one decision she has left—the most important decision she’ll ever make.

    Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.”

    My Thoughts:

    Mia is a wonderfully written main character and I was totally captivated by her story. (It’s really hard to write a review here without giving spoilers!?) Suffice it to say that I was emotionally caught up and invested in the tale and outcome. I cried like a baby, teared up more than a few times and this is one of those stories that will stay with me for a very long time.

    The main characters as well as the secondary characters were all written with a depth and richness of believability, the plot was excellent, the pacing great, and as the book description says: ” Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.” It was exactly that.

    If I Stay was riveting! I was drawn into the story and was completely caught up in it. I read it in one sitting because I couldn’t put the book down. Gayle Forman is a very talented story-weaver and I am definitely keeping an eye out for the next book, Where She Went, which will be out in the spring of 2011. This book delivers and I highly recommend it to everyone!

           

    Buy If I Stay at:

    ChaptersAmazon,   Barnes & Noble,  Borders or The Book Depository

    Find out more about Gayle Forman at her website!

    July 2, 2010 - Posted by | On My Bookshelf, Reading, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , ,

    5 Comments »

    1. If I Stay is my favourite YA read so far, so I’m glad that you liked it too. 🙂 Where She Went is the sequel, and I can’t wait!!! I’m hoping that THIS sequel will bring justice to the first. Hopefully it will have all the same elements of truth and believability that made me fall in love with Gayle Forman’s writing to begin with.

      Comment by Cassandra | July 4, 2010 | Reply

      • I completely agree with you Cassandra! Mia definitely deserves some happiness after all that she went through. I can’t wait to see what will happen in Where She Went. 😀

        Comment by sidhevicious | July 5, 2010 | Reply

    2. I finished If I Stay last night. I certainly brought tears to my eyes. What a book!

      Comment by Nikki-ann | July 18, 2010 | Reply

      • It’s one of those stories that will stay with me for a long time. Really, really well written.

        Comment by sidhevicious | July 19, 2010 | Reply

    3. when is where she went coming out ?

      Comment by yamilexy | January 23, 2011 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

