Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

The Girls With Games Of Blood – Spotlight & Review


 

      

The Girls With Games Of Blood by Alex Bledsoe

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; 1st edition edition (July 6 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765323842
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765323842
  • Genre: Urban Fantasy, Horror
  •  Book Description:

    “Listen to what I tell you, son, every word is true
    The sisters haunt the night, and might fight over you
    Nothing can steal your soul and stamp it in the mud
    Like being the new play-pretty for the girls with the games of blood…

    The old song warns of the beautiful Bolade sisters, Patience and Prudence, whose undying rivalry was said to stretch even beyond the grave. But Count Rudolfo Vladimir Zginski has never heard the song. A suave Continental vampire, staked to death more than sixty years ago, he has risen to stalk the Southern nights of Memphis, Tennessee, circa 1975. Although new to the modern world, he has quickly developed a taste for its hot blood, willing women, and high-speed automobiles.

    Yet the seventies are not without their perils, even for so cunning and ruthless a predator. Zginski’s insistent pursuit of a cherry 1973 Mach 1 Ford Mustang soon brings him into conflict with a legendary redneck sheriff with a short temper and a big baseball bat. His dangerous fascination with an enticing undead chanteuse and her equally seductive sister, threatens not only his own ageless existence, but that of the small group of modern-day vampires he has grudgingly taken under his wing. Zginski has already escaped limbo once, but can he free himself from the tangled web of the girls who play games of blood?

    Alex Bledsoe, author of Blood Groove, returns to he world of the undead with a tale of fast cars and vengeance that never dies….”

    

    My Thoughts:

     Here’s the thing, I couldn’t finish this book. I picked it up several times and kept putting it aside again. Maybe if I had read the first book in the series, Blood Groove, I might have been able to get caught up in the story, but it just didn’t hold my interest, sadly. I was really looking forward to reading it as so many of my favorite authors liked it, but it just didn’t work for me. I made it to page 116 after a few attempts to read it and am having a difficult time trying to talk myself into continuing when I have so many other books to review. I’m choosing to just give up and move on.   

    It is written well with interesting characters and an intriguing plot, so I can’t say that I recommend or don’t recommend it to others. You have to judge for yourself, but for me, it just didn’t work to keep me interested. It is a different style of urban fantasy than I like.

    October 13, 2010 - Posted by | New Releases, On My Bookshelf, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , , , ,

    6 Comments »

    1. Oh wow!
      That bad?
      I thought it sounded interesting!
      Hmm, I might give it a try if I get the chance!
      Thanks for the review!

      Comment by Kelly | October 14, 2010 | Reply

      • Hi Kelly,
        It’s not that it’s bad. It just wasn’t grabbing my attention at all. It could still be a great read for you or for others. I, like everyone else, go through periods where certain styles of writing just don’t hold my interest. Who knows, maybe in time it could’ve been a better read for me. 🙂

        Comment by sidhevicious | October 14, 2010 | Reply

    2. Yeah I get what you mean!
      You know what? you are probably right because it has happened to me that I start a book and don’t like it very much and then try it after a couple of months and actually like it..
      Maybe it;s also frame of mind, circumstance!..

      Comment by Kelly | October 14, 2010 | Reply

    3. We haven’t heard from you in a while, I hope all is well?

      Comment by Kelly | November 4, 2010 | Reply

    4. Hiya Judy,
      Interesting review as always, and you’re right — sometimes certain writing styles don’t jive with what we’re looking for at the moment. Anywho, wanted to pop by to wish you a happy new year and hope that you have a great 2011!

      Darkeva

      Comment by Darkeva | January 2, 2011 | Reply

    5. I love your blog! Drop by and say hi if you get a chance!
      Kristin
      My Bookish Ways

      Comment by Kristin C. | February 9, 2011 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

