Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Sidhe’s News & Updates


I just wanted to let everyone know what I’ve been up to besides getting back to reviewing. I’ve updated the BIOS/Policy page, updated my Wish List in the sidebar, and I’ve gone through my links and culled any that were no longer good links. If any of you find any more “dead” links in my sidebar, or if you have any cool links to share with me, please let me know and I’ll consider adding them. I’ve attempted to “clean up” the side bars a bit too.

I’m still plugging away at updating the “My Books” list/pages. Bear with me on that one as there’s a LOT of updating to do on those, lol. We should also have the New Releases for August & September up shortly. Tori & I are working on that as I type.

As you all know, Tori’s joined me on the blog as a reviewer recently and I’m loving having her here! I hope you all are as excited as I am about having some new reviewers. I have another new reviewer in the works who will also be a great addition to the blog. 🙂

On to other news – I’ve been mulling over a few things and I thought I’d put them out there to see what you all think.

Zombies! Do you love ’em, hate ’em or run like hell if you see one coming? 😉 LOL  I’ve been seeing more zombie books out there and I gotta say that I’m not really all that attracted to buying/reading them myself. I know that there are a few really good ones out there, but for the most part, I find them pretty disgusting and have a really hard time liking any main characters who are zombies. If they are secondary characters or the villain/antagonist, then they can enhance a story, but as the main character? For the most part… no thanks. What do you think?

Steampunk! Are you all loving it or not liking it? I can’t say that I’ve read a whole lot of books in the genre, but I didn’t really like the few that I have read. Not because the writing was bad or anything like that. They were well written, but just didn’t appeal to me. It kinda makes me sad, because so many great authors are putting out books in this genre and I am not wanting to read them. Sound off people, I want to know what you think!

 

    

August 17, 2011 - Posted by | Poll, Rambling, Sidhe's News & Updates | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Zombies, I know lots of people myself included went a little crazy when Rachel Caine revealed that she was writing a new series and the first release “Working Stiff” was on my pre-release buy list just as fast as could get to The Book Depository when I got the name of the book to insert in the order form.

    I did enjoy it, will not read it again and will not continue the series. Very sad to say it kind of fell flat for me and more than that it did not really “appeal” as much as I had hoped.

    Steampunk, you and I are having the same problem Judi. Have not read much of it and what I have read was wonderfully written, had a good flow, great characters and plot but the genre just does not appeal to me either. There is just something about the descriptions of the “machines” and gadgets that is off putting and does not make me want to continue with the next story if the author has a series going on.

    Once again it is a case of everyone jumping on the popular bandwagon and not really getting a following from loyal fans when they do release this particular style of writing.

    Nice you are updating, happy Tori is helping take some of the stress off you and looking forward to seeing who else is coming on board in the future.
    Have a good hump day!

    Comment by Jackie Burris (@jacabur1) | August 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Jackie! Whew, I’m happy to hear that I’m not the only one who’s thinking/feeling this way about Zombies & Steampunk. I know that there are a lot of fans of both sub-genres out there and that makes me glad for the authors because they really are talented writers, but the two are just not gelling for me at all. I’ll stick to my multitude of supernatural hotties who are vampires, weres, fae, fallen angels, demons and dragons. 😉

      Happy Hump Day back at ya!

      Comment by sidhevicious | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m kind of geeky and I used to love SciFi, so I don’t mind steampunk. It’s very inventive if done right, although I have to admit, I’ve only read a couple of books in the genre.

    Zombies, however, yuck! I have no problem with other paranormal creatures, but rotting flesh just disgusts me. Also, I think part of the problem I have with them is that they are usually featured in dystopian type books. Personally, I don’t particularly like those either so put zombies and dystopia together in one book, and it’s usually a no-go for me.

    Now, having said that, I have to admit that I read Married With Zombies by Jesse Petersen. It was hilarious and I’m looking forward to reading her following two books also. It was kind of gross in places, but the real focus of the book was the relationship between the two lead characters (not zombies). They are a couple who are about to split up. They discover that there’s a zombie apocalypse going on when they show up for their weekly marriage counseling appt. but have to kill their counselor because she’s become a zombie and tries to eat them. If you’ve ever seen the movie Shaun of the Dead, it’s kind of in that vein and just as funny.

    Comment by JenM | August 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Jen,
      Thanks for chiming in. I still love sci-fi and consider myself to be kinda geeky too, lol, but I still couldn’t get into the few steampunk books I tried. And I actually loved the few dystopian books I’ve read so far! I’ve been lucky in that I’ve seemed to avoid any with zombies being a major feature in them. 😀

      Comment by sidhevicious | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] Sidhe’s News & Updates (sidhevicious.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Zombies Go Meh Meh Meh (Book Review) | November 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

