Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Sound Off Saturday


Happy Labor Day long weekend! I know that most of you are all probably off doing something fun and exciting for the last long weekend of summer. I know that I wish I was. So, for those of us stuck at home or work, this post is for you! 🙂

This last week I was stuck at home with an extremely painful abscessed tooth, so I got a lot of reading in. I devoured Adrian Phoenix’s – Black Heart Loa, which is the second book in her Hoodoo Series. Look for my review this upcoming week. I also read Kait Nolan’s – Red, an awesome young adult paranormal that I’ll be featuring next week on the blog. And I polished the week off with Jeaniene Frost’s – One Grave At A Time, the sixth book in her Night Huntress Series. Yes, I visited a Bayou in Louisiana, the Appalachian Mountains and went on another thrilling adventure with Cat & Bones! I am a professional armchair traveller/thrill – seeker, lol.

It’s finally September. The month that all the kids go back to school, (thank God!), and the month that all the awesome fall season TV shows start up again. Am I a little bit too excited about this? Yes, yes I am, ha ha. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, “Hello! My name is Judi and I am a TV addict”. 😀 I can’t wait for The Vampire Diaries, Supernatural, Sanctuary, Fringe, Hawaii 5.0, Castle, Bones, both NCIS’s and a slew of others to come back. I’m excited about a few new ones, The Secret Circle, The Ringer, Grimm, The Sing Off, and Terra Nova. I’m still mourning the loss of Smallville and Stargate Universe. I told ya I was hooked on lots of shows, lol.

Talk to me people, what awesome books did you read this week? Did you go and see a wicked movie? Eat an amazing dinner? See friends or family that you haven’t seen in a long time? Go somewhere or do something interesting? Work on writing a novel? Throw a computer at the wall or out a window? Get stuck driving behind a complete moron who has no business behind the wheel of a vehicle like I seem to have happen to me several times weekly? Have an annoying or condescending person wreck your day?  How was your week? What did you think of that movie you saw or book you read? Are you excited about any books, TV shows or movies that are coming up soon? Are you going on a trip somewhere exotic?  Do you need to vent about something really frustrating? Go for it, I want to know.

September 3, 2011 - Posted by | Rambling, Rant, Sidhe's News & Updates | ,

8 Comments »

  1. Labor Day weekend for us means exactly that, working on projects around the house.
    This past week enjoyed the heck out of Evelyn LaFont’s Vampire Relationship Guide book #2, read “Red” by Kait Nolan week prior to that and Elodie Rose and Sawyer now own my heart, reading One Grave At A Time and Cat and Bones are doing well for my armchair entertainment thank you very much.
    Now onto the yucky, my lower back gave out 2 weeks ago. It got tight all the way across so sleeping, showering, dressing, walking, entering and exiting a vehicle much less driving it has been to put it mildly a real pain. Next week finally get to go in for PT eval, after that will see what kind of schedule of painful exercises will keep me from reading and blogging for awhile as much as would like.

    I did love part of the last few weeks though as have watched episode of Restaurant Impossible where an expert comes in and saves a place that is almost ready to close it’s doors. Also lots of time spent around the globe house hunting on HGTV and man do I want to go to the Dominican Republic right now and check out those beaches!

    Judi hope your tooth problem is fully resolved, have had those twice and they are not really a fun time for all!

    Comment by Jackie B Central Texas | September 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Jackie! I hadn’t heard of Evelyn LaFont’s book, so thanks, I’ll definitely be looking that one up. 🙂
      Sorry to hear about your back, I know how painful and uncomfortable that can be. It makes it hard to do pretty much anything when your back is screwed up. I hope you get help and that it heals up soon. You know, muscle relaxers are our friends! 😉
      I’m an HGTV fan too. I love House Hunters & International House Hunters too. I’ve also been watching that Fantasy Homes By The Sea on BBC Canada.
      I have several trips to the dentist to look forward to in the next couple of weeks, but the antibiotics finally started kicking in and a partial root canal done by my dentist helped to bring the pain level back to not excruciating.
      Thanks for sounding off Jackie! Do you think I should make this a weekly thing on Saturdays so we can all connect and chat about our week?

      Comment by sidhevicious | September 3, 2011 | Reply

      • I would be happy to share the good, the bad, and the ugly as much as possible when I could Judi.

        I hear you about the muscle relaxers, have not gotten that far yet but think they may be getting prescribed if things do not improve soon.

        Antibiotics are most absolutely our friends, so glad they kicked in and helped. I remember when I had my first abcess like it was only this morning and do not wish that on anyone!

        Weekly meet-up sounds good, we can all get a good laugh if there are funny shares and cry together if there are sad ones.

        Comment by Jackie B Central Texas | September 3, 2011 | Reply

        • Awesome! Thanks for chiming in. It’s nice to know that I’m not just talking to myself when I put up a post like this, lol.

          This is my second time suffering through an abcessed tooth, the first time was just as awful. It was wisdom tooth related way back when I was 20 or 21. It was so bad that I had to go through two rounds of antibiotics before they’d even touch the tooth. Bleh…

          I like the idea of just chatting about our week, the good, the bad, the funny & the ugly, lol.

          Comment by sidhevicious | September 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. Happy Labor Day weekend. I watched the movie Rio(kid’s movie) and Madeas Big Happy Family. Those were pretty good. We get to go the races on Sun. It’s called Tournament of Destruction. LOL. Should be fun. I have been doing heavy cleaning out of eccessive stuff around the house and also painting some rooms that I have put off for a long, long time. LOL. So haven’t had time for too much fun stuff.
    Sue B

    Comment by katsrus | September 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Sue!
      Happy Labor Day weekend right back at ya. 😉 I want to see Rio, was it good? It looks great in the commercials. The race sounds like it’s going to be a blast. I haven’t been to one in years. Good for you, you go girl! I so need to get off my caboose and do some major cleaning, organizing, etc myself. And it’s way past overdue, lol. It’s a neccesary evil, but worth it in the end right? Have you read any good books lately? What do you think about my doing this Sound Off post every Saturday so we can all chat about our week?

      Comment by sidhevicious | September 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. Tomorrow is our 10th wedding anniversary, so to celebrate, we are going back to Hawaii to the resort where we spent our honeymoon! Ten beautiful days in Kona. That’s my reward for working like crazy this week to get ready to take time off. We love Hawaii. I dream of buying a house there, but of course, can’t really afford that. One day though, we want to take a few months off and rent a house there. That’s my current daydream.

    Comment by JenM | September 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Happy Anniversary Jen!! 🙂 I hope you and your hubby have an amazing time in Hawaii. I’ve never been, but continue to dream about it while watching travel shows, lol. 10 years, that’s awesome! You’ll have to let me know how the trip was when you get back. Stay safe and have oodles of relaxing & fun. *Hugs*

      Comment by sidhevicious | September 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

