Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

SVR – News & Updates


As some of you  may know, I celebrated a “milestone” birthday this last weekend. Yup, I turned 40. I pulled out the trusty old “melon cat” picture because it about sums up my feelings on the matter, lol. My emotions have been a fairly even mix of up and down about it, though I can honestly say  that as far as birthdays go, this one was pretty darn ok. I got some major love over on FaceBook, which was really awesome. I was taken out to dinner to one of my favorite places to eat. I was given enough gift cards to get me some majorly “wanted” books and to go and buy Thor on dvd when it hits stores on Tuesday!

I also got a message from my bestie in Australia that she wants to fly me out there next year, all expenses paid!!! OMG! So between being really excited and then not so excited or more like terrified about a 20-something hour-long flight to get there, lol, I’m kinda in shock. I am a smoker, (yes, I know it’s a disgusting habit), so that many hours on a plane tends to get me biting my nails in stress. I may have to self medicate for that flight, lol. Hello muscle relaxers! Trying to sleep for the majority of it is about the only way I would survive it, but then my pal would have a zooed out “Judi” to contend with when I get there, ha ha ha. I can just picture it now! 😀 Oh, the stories I will be able to tell. Or not. (Insert evil grin here)

So, the birthday-o-rama this weekend explains the case of the missing blogger here on SVR. Now I have to buckle down and get back to posting all my reviews, news, guest blogs and giveaways.

I’ve come across a couple of really great books that support causes that mean something to me, so I wanted to share some info about them here.

First up, we have a whole bunch of talented Young Adult authors telling their stories about bullying in the newly released Dear Bully. I really think that this book is very relevent in this day and age of bullying being taken to a whole other level with cyber bullying. It breaks my heart when I see kids bullying other children and when I see parents of a child who was bullied so badly that they either attempted suicide or they did it. So terribly tragic and hopefully someday, more avoidable. I believe that talking about this rising epidemic is one way to help battle it.

Also, a portion of the book’s proceeds will go to STOMP Out Bullying, a national anti-bullying and cyber bullying program for kids and teens and a partner of The Jed Foundation and MTV’s Love Is Louder campaign.

For more information about Dear Bully, visit the book’s official Facebook page and website, www.dearbully.com, where you’ll find videos of celebs like Ben Folds, Justin Timberlake, and the cast of Glee speaking out about bullying and cyber bullying.

ENTANGLED is on sale now IN ALL e-FORMATS at Amazon, B&N, Smashwords, and All Romance Ebooks. This is the 11-author paranormal anthology featuring NYT bestselling authors. 100% of the proceeds go to breast cancer research. If you have an e-reader and $2.99 to spare, please support the cause and buy a book. And please pass this on to family and friends! Thank you!!” (I’m passing this message on via Nancy K. Haddock on FaceBook).

Product Description:

“Ghosts, vampires, demons, and more!  Entangled includes ten suspense-filled paranormal short stories from authors
Cynthia Eden, Jennifer Estep, Edie Ramer, Lori Brighton, Michelle Diener, Misty Evans, Nancy Haddock, Liz Kreger, Dale Mayer, and Michelle Miles, plus a Seven Deadly Sins novella by Allison Brennan.

Stacia Kane contributed the  foreword. Formatting and cover art were also donated to the project by Lori Devoti and Laura Morrigan.

All proceeds go to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.”

September 12, 2011 - Posted by | New Book Releases, New Releases, Sidhe's News & Updates, Spotlight On..., Young Adult | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

