Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Tori Reviews – Fallen


 Fallen by Traci L. Slatton

  • Paperback:242 pages
  • Publisher:Telemachus Press, LLC (July 2011)
  • Language:English
  • ISBN-10:1935670891
  • ISBN-13: 978-1935670896
  • Genre: Dystopian Romance

Book Description:

“When the world ends, all that is left is
love….

As chaos descends on a
crippled Earth, survivors are tormented by strange psychic gifts. In this time
of apocalyptic despair, love is put to the test. One woman with mysterious
healing power guides seven children to safety. Charismatic Arthur offers her a
haven. Slowly Emma falls for him. But at the moment of their sweetest love, his
devastating secret is revealed, and they are lost to each other. Will Emma stay
with him?
The first in a romantic trilogy set during the end times.”

My Thoughts:

I didn’t know what to think of the book, I liked it but I didn’t like it.  It was about the end of the world and what happens afterwards. I think the author could have provided more details on what happened before the end of the world as we know it, as well as more details on the mist.  I actually really didn’t learn where they came from until the end even though I suspected as much.

I think Emma, one of the main characters could have shown more emotion than she did.  I realize she needed to be strong for the children she was taking care of, but it was like she was a robot and didn’t have any feelings at all.

I felt that Arthur was a very strong character though he had a lot of issues.  I know he felt a lot of guilt because you could feel it in all his actions.  He was trying to recreate a better society than before.  Arthur treated his people very good and they were well cared for and protected.  When he meets Emma, it changes everything for him.  Arthur would do anything for her and he does.  Emma makes him a better man.  I just didn’t feel a connection between Arthur and Emma though.  I felt that it was all one-sided and that Arthur loved Emma more than she did him.  Arthur was always expressing how he felt for Emma through his actions but I never saw Emma express how she felt toward Arthur.

I was very disappointed with the ending.  It just left it open and I am not a fan of cliff-hanger endings. I am not sure if the author has any plans for a series or not but it would have been nice to find out what happens.  I found the book very interesting but lacking in some areas and just felt like the characters didn’t connect.

Tori

   

Find out more about Traci L. Slatton and her books at her website.

Buy a copy of Fallen at:

The Book Depository

Chapters/Indigo

Amazon.ca

Amazon.com

Barnes & Noble

September 22, 2011 - Posted by | New Book Releases, Reviews, Spotlight On... | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Interesting. I had similar problems with Blood Red Road as far as the author sitting me down in the middle of this post-apocalyptic world with no explanation as to how it became that way. However, the story in Blood Red Road more than made up for that lack of information. It doesn’t sound like the same is true with Fallen. I’m also not a fan of cliffhanger endings, it feels like a cheap way to try to get the reader to buy the next book. Great review!

    Donna @ The Happy Booker

    Comment by Donna | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. Great review! I`m reading this for sure!

    Comment by Alexander | September 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

