Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Guest Blogger – Sharon Ashwood & Contest


Today we have a special treat. Sharon Ashwood the author of Ravenous, an up-coming Urban Fantasy release, is here to guest blog! She’s written an awesome post about where authors find their characters, so without further delay, I’ll let Sharon take the page. 🙂

ashwood2

Dark Hero Product Testing

 

Where do authors get their characters from?

 

Always a good question. When I needed to choose my hero for RAVENOUS, I perused the Author Supplies Emporium catalogue very carefully. What should he be like?  I flipped through the Romantic Tycoons, the Sexy Cops, and the Hard Hat Hunks. I wanted just the right guy for my book:  definitely an alpha hero, but not one of the overly pushy types. He’d have to be heavy-duty enough to like smushing villains, because I had a lot of action planned. There was no getting away with the affordable but flimsy Comic Lite products.

 

Picking the right model took time. My favourite heroes may be a little twisted as well as dark, but there’s always some line they won’t cross, and it’s that restraint that divides these edgier heroes from the villains. Still, a little envelope-pushing keeps things interesting. For me, the best kind of dark hero has to earn his way into the light, and the price he pays for his happy ever after is high. This kind of hero doesn’t stumble into love and flop down on the couch. He has to earn it, and it takes a strong heroine to stand up to him.

 

When I found the model I wanted, I placed my order, being careful to select the “sense of humour,” “fully operational brain,” and “redeemable soul” options.

 

I was so happy when my order arrived!  Unlike most true life heroes, mine came with instructions:

 

Hello, and welcome to your new Dark Hero, Vampire Edition 3.2!  Warranty provisions require that you follow these instructions for safety and for optimal customer satisfaction:

 

1.  This unit may be damaged if left for long periods in direct sunlight.

2.  This Hero unit may be cleaned using products designed for dark wash.  Do not bleach. Dry flat. Cool iron only.

3.  Your Dark Hero, Vampire Edition is intended for nighttime use only. Recharge daily.

4.  Use of the unit during the “brood” cycle is not recommended.

5.  If unit begins to watch Underworld repeatedly, remind him that he wears leather way better than Kate Beckinsale. This should reset unit to “arrogant” mode.

6.  It is not recommended that unit operate heavy equipment during full moon.

7.  This unit is not designed for domestic use. For daily household tasks, we recommend the Dark Hero, Djinn Slave 4.0

5.  If you wish to disassemble unit, use stake provided.

 

By way of product review, the Dark Hero, V.E. 3.2 worked a treat. I have to admit, though, I’m curious about the 3.3 upgraded “green” model. The solar rechargeable batteries might present some issues.

 

ravenous1

 

LOL. I LOVE this post! Sharon’s got a wicked funny sense of humor. And now, lucky readers, we have a contest to WIN a signed copy of Ms. Ashwood’s Ravenous! In the comments, tell me about what characteristics your favorite heros have. For extra entries, subscribe to my blog or blog about this contest and leave me the link in the comments.

I’ll use the random number generator on February 11th to pick the winner, so start commenting, blogging and subscribing! I’ll make every attempt to contact the winner & the winner’s name will be posted on my blog on Feb 11th. If I don’t hear back from the winner in 4 days, I’ll draw another winner. Good Luck Everyone! 🙂

January 31, 2009 - Posted by | Contest, Guest Blogger | , , ,

42 Comments »

  1. I prefer my men dark, athletic and forceful, but the overriding required characteristic is intelligent: if they are stupid, they aren’t for me.I can like them Sidhe, vampire, or furry, but I don’t like them mean.
    (And I am already subscribed.)

    Comment by G | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Sidhe! What a fun post, I loved it. I like my heroes to be Bad Boys, but I also want them to be honorable. (Even if they don’t want to show it.) Thanks for running the contest!

    Comment by Barb P | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like my men to be a bit dark, strong, sexy, but in the end they have to have a bit of goodness in them. Great interview and I can hardly wait for this to come out…it is on my to be bought list.

    Oh, I subscribed to your blog…I cannot believe that I have not done this sooner.

    Comment by Lori T | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’ve posted this at Win a Book. Don’t enter me in the contest.

    Comment by Bridget | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  5. My heros are broad shouldered, tall, have a nice rear, and are bad to the bone and great lovers!
    Would love to receive a copy of Sharon’s book!!!
    Thanks so much,
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Darby Lohrding | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  6. I like my heroes to be able to show strength and compassion and that they are human too!

    Comment by Stacie V | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  7. I’m a new subscriber.

    Comment by Stacie V | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  8. Ladies, you all have wonderful Hero Requirements! Great to see you know what you like.

    Thanks for entering. 🙂

    Comment by sidhevicious | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  9. I prefer characters who are intelligent and wise more than fighters. I don’t want them to be perfect; in fact, I love it all the more when they are flawed whether they know it or not. I would rather a very kind, almost fatherlike figure than a fighter.

    Valorie
    morbidromantic@gmail.com

    Comment by Valorie | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  10. Definitely a cute post!! Thanks. I like my heros dark, smart, sensitive and with integrity.

    Comment by MarthaE | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  11. I like my heros dark, intelligent, and occassionally vicious. But only when it’s a means of protection.

    Love the post, and will definitly be getting my hands on the book!

    Comment by Cory | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  12. I like my heros to be bad ass women!

    Comment by Bridget3420 | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  13. I’m a subscriber

    Comment by Bridget3420 | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  14. I would say tall, dark, rich, & and good-hearted.

    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Renee G | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  15. XD Kind of reminds me of the japanese manga/drama Zettai Kareshi (Absolute Lover). Pretty much that’s the premise–you order what you want your ideal ‘boyfriend’ to be like. Looks, temperment, abilities…

    I’m on the fence on how I like my heroes. I love heroes that are a little bit on the dark side, who can smile and joke about themselves without wallowing in self-pity, who appreciate the hard work a girl puts into how they look, loves to read, tall with dark hair and does something athletic (soccer for instance or lacrosse).

    Comment by Lexie | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  16. Smart, strong, tall, dark hair, light eyes.

    Great post. And I am subscribing to your blog next, dont know how I missed it before.

    Comment by Donna S | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  17. Principles and flaws.

    Comment by Elizabeth | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  18. Thank you all for stopping by and entering the contest!

    Great question by the way. Let’s hear it for great hair!

    Comment by Sharon Ashwood | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  19. […] RAVENOUS is out this month.  For a chance to sample her unique voice and maybe win her book, go read her hilarious post on Dark Hero Product Testing before February […]

    Pingback by Go win Sharon’s debut! « The Mythology of Humanity | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  20. Awesome product review! I’d buy that djinn edition.

    Comment by Jessa Slade | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  21. I like my heroes big, muscular (but not like a bodybuilder) and with a slighly dangerous “aura”.
    Hair colour I don’t care even if long or not as long as it is the right thing for the hero…
    They should be able to fight for what is important and care completely about their woman. I like it when they tease one another. And I like a lot the “one for all, all for one” credo.

    Comment by Jessica Hamel | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  22. I’m NOT entering but I have to throw my two cents in. 😀 Hmmm… I like my heroes to look like Edward Cullen/Robert Pattinson or Dean Winchester/Jensen Ackles. My respective Movie and TV “boyfriends”. 😉 (At least in my own little happy place) Oh! And Eric from True Blood as well. Mmmmm

    So, I like them tall with blue or green eyes, a little bit of a smart-a$$, great sense of humor, tough but vulnerable, lean but muscular and hair color or length isn’t a big issue although I like darker hair usually. Creative, intelligent, trustworthy, loyal, integrity, and commitment are all qualities that I would love.

    Ok, I’m off to my “Happy Place” now, lol. Keep the awesome comments coming ladies!

    Comment by sidhevicious | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  23. Well, I love heroes that are much like me, they have flaws, they aren’t perfect, but they are strong minded individuals and they have hearts of gold!

    Comment by Ruthie | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  24. Love the product review!!

    My favorite hero qualities: Dark, delicious, and a sense of honor that proves his undoing…

    Comment by Annette McCleave | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  25. Love your warranty provisions! Too funny! Can’t wait to read RAVENOUS!

    Comment by Kim Lenox | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  26. I like heroes that are somewhat unlikely. I love when someone who is considers a nerd outsmarts a bad guy.

    Comment by nhertel85 | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  27. I’m following.

    Comment by nhertel85 | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  28. tall, dark and handsome. 🙂 And smart. they have to be smart. oh yeah. and funny 🙂

    Comment by Virginia Hendricks | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  29. I love a hero with a strong alpha personality, sexy, smart, and has a sense of humor. Can be a good partner in love and life with the woman he loves. Don’t require my heroes to be drop dead gorgeous, but like the strength of his character to show in his face and body.

    Comment by Cathy M | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  30. In real life I like to be on equal footing with my man, but in a good story I like him to take charge. He should look good in jeans with just the right amount of muscle, be smart, have a sense of humor when needed, and know all the right moves.

    Comment by Kat Bryan | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  31. I want to read about a hero with a dynamic sense of humor and dark, sexy eyes.

    He should be, above all, unable to live without the heroine.

    Comment by Jodie | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  32. bad bad boys :)))) though that have a reall good side
    does that make sense, it does in my head, but not sure it came out right

    Comment by tami blackroze37 | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  33. I love my hero to be someone the other characters would not expect to be a hero. In terms of supernatural powers, he would lack in it and be force to use hit wit and intelligent to outsmart his oponents. He would be funny and goofy at times but is serious when actions for it.

    Comment by Sue | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  34. I’m following your blog via email and blogged about this contest this contest at my LJ:
    http://okibi-insanity.livejournal.com/3401.html#cutid1

    Comment by Sue | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  35. I like the dark, brooding, gorgeous, and toeing the line at every opportunity kind of hero. Oh, yeah, also with a sense of humor.

    Blogged: http://fantasydreamersramblings.blogspot.com/2009/02/contest-for-ravenous-by-sharon-ashwood.html

    Comment by Donna | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  36. I just subscribed in Google Reader (egret17).

    I like my heroes dark, with some brooding and angst. But! Must have sense of humor and be intelligent. The guy on the cover of Kresley Cole’s Dark Needs at Night’s Edge is PERFECT, IMNSHO.

    Comment by Chris | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  37. I like my heroes to be strong, confident and willing to do anything for the people they love.

    Comment by Crystal B. | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  38. does our Rob count as a hero;)

    Comment by wickedlilpixie | February 15, 2009 | Reply

  39. […] To read the hilarious guest blog that Sharon Ashwood wrote back when Ravenous came out, click HERE. […]

    Pingback by Scorched – Spotlight & Review « Sidhe Vicious Reviews | December 4, 2009 | Reply

  40. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    Comment by Sims cdk | June 14, 2011 | Reply

  41. […] this post in 2009 for Sidhe Vicious Reviews shortly after I released RAVENOUS. The original post is here. It remains one of my favourites, so for a Friday Flashback, I’m running it one more time! […]

    Pingback by » Dark Hero Product Testing | January 6, 2017 | Reply


Leave a comment