Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Spoiler Free Reviews & More Book-ish Goings On :)

Chloe Neill Guest Blog & Contest


Some Gilrs Bite

Today I am honored to have Chloe Neill, the author Some Girls Bite, an awesome new series about the Chicagoland Vampires, here guest blogging! There’s also a contest so be sure to read on and find out how to enter. So’ll hand the reigns over and extend a warm welcome to Chloe…

Plotting by the Seat of Your Pants

I’ll be honest.  I’m not a great outliner.

I’m currently working on my fourth manuscript, and it’s the first one that I’ve written from a full outline.
I’m not entirely sure what to do about that, as I’m normally more of a plot-by-the-seat-of-my-pants
kind of writer.

Since I tend to write novels in series, I generally have an idea of where I want the series to go—namely,
which heroine and hero will end up together in the end. I also have an idea of the conflicts I want them
to face and the obstacles they’ll need to overcome in order to get together in the end. For each
particular manuscript, I know where the heroine starts, and I know where I want her to end. I also have
an idea of the major points in the story.

Everything else is pretty much a blank page, at least at first. I’ll generally start the book, fill in some big
scenes, write the end, and then begin filling in the rest (80,000+ words) of the novel. Occasionally, once
I’m past the halfway point, I’ll plot out the second half of the book to ensure that the pacing in the
second half of the book is consistent. But for the first 50,000 or so words, I’m writing on the fly.

As you might imagine, this process can lead to some stressful moments.  If I’m tired, if I’m not feeling
the creative drive, or if I’m distracted (dog, boy, job, housework), writing on a blank page isn’t the
easiest thing to do.

And, one of the results of this “process” (to the extent you can call it that), is that I end up dropping a
stitch somewhere in the story because of the sheer number of subplots I have running at any one time.
[Sidenote: As a reader, I like “thick” stories, undercurrents, lots of points of interest.  These kinds of
stories seem more real to me. Think about it—you might have relationship troubles, but you also have a
job to deal with, a family, a home, financial concerns, etc.  Why should it be any different in the world of
the supernatural? Sure, you’ve got paranormal evildoers, but the world doesn’t stop just because the
evildoers come to town.] Luckily, I have a fabulous editor who seems to notice those things, even if I
don’t. J

On the other hand, I worry that if I do outline the entire novel, the writing will feel “administrative.”  I
worry that I’ll lose the creative drive that keeps the word count growing if the writing becomes “filling in
the blanks” of a pre-planned outline. Now that I’m in the thick of that process with the current book
(Chicagoland Vampires #3), I suppose I’ll figure out it.

In the meantime, I thought I’d take a scan around the web and see what other plotting/outlining ideas
folks have to offer. Here’s some linkables:

1. How to Outline a Novel (E-How) { http://www.ehow.com/how_2110891_outline-a-novel.html}: This
site includes tips on plotting the novel in one-thirds, outlining scenes, and using a plot notebook.

2. Storyboarding a Novel (Associated Content)
http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/154132/storyboarding_how_to_break_your_novel.html
 The authors call it storyboarding, but this is actually a method utilizing note cards.

3. The Snowflake Method (Advanced Fiction Writing) {
http://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/art/snowflake.php}: Building out the elements of a novel from
sentence to manuscript.

4. Lynn Viehl’s Novel Outlining 101{ http://pbackwriter.blogspot.com/2007/09/novel-outlining
101.html}: A professional (and well-published) author offers her perspective on outlining and plotting. I
really like her idea of putting a “novel notebook” together. Lynn also has additional posts on outlining
{http://pbackwriter.blogspot.com/search/label/outlining}.

5. Novel Summary Sheet (Writer’s Digest) { http://www.writing.com/main/view_item/item_id/870156}:
As the name suggests, a sheet allowing you to create a precise summary of your manuscript.

Here’s my best advice—Take these ideas as suggestions, as tools in your writing toolbox, and don’t
worry about outlining “like the others do.”  You’ll know what works best for you, whether it’s one-page
summary, full outline, notebook, or nothing at all.

Good luck, and thanks to Sidhe Vicious Reviews for having me today!

Chloe

Thank you for taking the time to blog with me Chloe! What a great post. 🙂 As you can see in my review, I am now officially a Chicagoland Vampires fan-girl. I can’t wait for Friday Night Bites!

Friday NB

CONTEST

Chloe has graciously offered up some great prizes including a signed copy of Some Girls Bite and “Box of Chicagoland Vampire Goodness” for the giveaway including:

1. Signed Chicagoland Vampires bookplate
2. “I Heart Cadogan” bumper sticker
3. Some Girls Bite magnet
4. Cadogan House bar coaster

How To Enter

Leave a comment explaining what you would most look forward to if you were changed into a vampire?  What would you miss the most? 

 

For An Extra Entry: 

-Subscribe to my blog and be sure to verify the subscription through your email. Leave a comment to let me know you’ve subscribed. If you’re already subscribed and you enter, you’ll have an extra entry.

The contest will run until 11:59pm on Sunday, June 21st and the winner will be posted at some point on the 22nd. Please leave an email address in your comment if you’d like an email to let you know if you’ve won. If I can’t contact the winner and I don’t hear back from the posted winner after 5 days, a new winner will be drawn.

Good Luck and I look forward to your comments! 😀

June 8, 2009 - Posted by | Contest, Guest Blogger, New Releases, Spotlight On...

64 Comments »

  1. […] Neill, author of “Some Girls Bite“, gives advice on writing and writing techniques as a guest blogger on Sidhe Vicious Reviews.  If you are writing a book, or are looking for a place to start, she provides good advice, […]

    Pingback by Chloe Neill talks about writing techniques « The Roaming Undead | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. what you would most look forward to if you were changed into a vampire? What would you miss the most?

    I think what i’d look forward the most is not really original but i would love having all the time in the world to study EVERYTHING. I mean i had to choose what to study in College but if i had all the time in the world i’d study all the things that have kept my interest, lots of languages. I’d read all the books i could get my hands on!
    yeah i’d be a vampire nerd … but that’s cool with me =)

    I think i’d miss my family, since at one point or another i’d lose every friends and family i had when i was mortal.

    i just subscribed to receive your ‘Email Subscription’
    pattepoilueATgmailDOTcom

    I live in France so i don’t know if it’s ok for the contest , if it’s not it’s alright i understand =)

    Comment by caroline allard | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi there! What a great posting! I always like to read about the writing process.
    I think if I were a vampire I would most appreciate the supernatural strength—I was going to say the immortality, but that one’s kind of a two edged sword. What I’d dislike the most would be staying young while those around me grew old and eventually died—and if vampires were still hidden, I’d have to keep moving and changing my identity so as not to be found out.

    Comment by Kimberly B. | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. looking forward to my kids growing up so I could change them when they were grown. And eating is what I’d miss the most. lol. I don’t do real well on liquid diets.
    Your book sounds great and I’ve added it to my amazon wishlist. Only way I can keep track of upcoming books I want.

    Comment by Pamk | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. Shoot I forgot to say I already subscribe via google reader does that count and my email addy is
    scrtsbpal at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Pamk | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. Awesome guest blog. I’m more of a “know the basics and go for it” kind of writer as well. It’s a bit hard for me to just sit and outline the story, as I feel things come to me as time goes on, you know? I get ideas as I write.

    Anyway, I’ve been wanting to read this one for awhile. I’ll need to pick up a copy soon actually, like I told Chloe recently. It just looks so great!!

    As for your questions though…I’d like to see the world and experience a lot more and that would be a plus if I was a vampire and would have more time. I’d miss my family and regular life though if I was one, b/c I’d live longer than them and that would be sad. I couldn’t do it honestly, but they sure are fun to read about.

    -Lauren
    lauren51990 AT aol DOT com

    Comment by ShootingStarsMag | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  7. i think id look forward to the moonlight and the strength the most id miss my old life and the way things were alive as a human

    Comment by Beverly G | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  8. i subscribed to ur blog too

    Comment by Beverly G | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  9. I’ve subscribed to your newsletter

    Thanks for the great contest

    Comment by elaing8 | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  10. If I were changed into a vampire I’d most look forward to immortality.

    Miss the most would be sunlight

    Comment by elaing8 | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  11. Hi Chloe. Great post.
    I would miss being able to be in sunlight and being able to enjoy food.

    Comment by Crystal B. | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  12. Great answers! I look forward to more. 🙂

    I’ve also just turned off moderation on the comments, so hopefully I’ll catch any spammers quickly.

    Comment by sidhevicious | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  13. Thanks for the comments, everyone.

    @ Caroline – LOVE the “vampire nerd” idea. Very much up my ally (and Merit’s too, actually).

    Comment by Chloe | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  14. Great post. I am so looking forward to reading this series.

    The thing I would most look forward to is the time to do and see everything I have on my list of places to visit and things to do.

    The thing I would miss most would be food.

    I am already a subscriber.

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

    Comment by Donna S | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  15. I would so love being immortal! Living forever would be awesome. Although, admittedly watching all my friends and family die would be pretty horrible!

    Comment by Wendy | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  16. I subscribed to your blog, by the way! 🙂

    Comment by Wendy | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  17. I’d miss the warmth of the sun and the taste of food and body warmth!
    I subscribe in Google Reader already.

    Comment by G | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  18. I love that guest blog-and I’ll definitely check out those links.

    As for the contest questions: I would most like the possibility of having so much time, without worrying about illness, to read, travel & a learn. And while I would miss the sun I think I might miss friends and family most (as they would not live as long).

    Comment by BookSpot | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  19. Great blog – I am now a subscriber to it.

    I would most look forward to the whole immortality aspect of being a vampire. I would miss my dog the most – though if I were a vampire, perhaps I’d be able to learn how to turn him so my best friend could stay with me and I wouldn’t have to miss him.

    Comment by Stacia Helpman | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  20. I forgot to say I subscribed to your blog. Thanks!

    Comment by Kimberly B. | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  21. I would be most excited about not having to rush anything. If you live forever you’ll have plenty of time to do all the things you want to do. Well, kind of. I would miss my mom most because I know there’s no way she would let me turn her.

    Comment by bridget3420 | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  22. I’m an email subscriber

    Comment by bridget3420 | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  23. If I became a vampire I believe I’d love forward to never growing old and dying. Living forever, especially without your family is a scary thought but there is just so much stuff to experience, so many books to read still, so many old movies to watch, places to see, and people meet to do it all in one lifetime!

    I think I’d miss family and food (well depending on what type of vamp it is, some can eat) lol.

    Comment by Ladytink_534 | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  24. I know it’s been said but I would miss the sun the most I believe – maybe I’d get to be a day walker 🙂 so that’d fix that!

    Oh I know I’d miss family and friends the most though as they would age and pass on while I remained :(.

    All vamps look hot so I’d look forward to that lol!

    Comment by Pam S | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  25. Great contest and I loved “Some Girls Bite!”

    What I think I’d look forward to the most if I were a vampire would be being faster and stronger. In some books vampires can transport from place to place and I would love that.

    What I’d like least abut being a vampire would be not being able to eat and enjoy food especially chocolate!

    Thanks for entering me in the contest and I am going to subscribe to your blog right now.

    Comment by Rose Miller | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  26. It seems most everyone would love the fact that we would have all the time in the world to read all the books we want to read! LOL, I’m happy to know that I’m not alone in thinking that.

    Keep the great comments coming. 🙂

    Comment by sidhevicious | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  27. Plenty of time could be the biggest or the worst asset, depending on having or not someone to share it with.
    calcamanin at gmail dot com

    Comment by Calcamanin | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  28. I second any comments involving additional time to read, eat, or spend time with loved ones. 🙂

    Comment by Chloe | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  29. I am a sun person so I would miss being out in the day the most. On the other hand, I would have cool healing powers so I suppose that makes up for a lot!

    Comment by Llehn | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  30. Since I’m a sun worshipper, I’d most miss the sun. But I’d also miss things like chocolate, lobster, coffee, etc etc. To never get sick or grow old might be worth the sacrifice though.

    And I’m already a subscriber.

    gogi1_2 AT yahoo DOT com

    Comment by Jody F. | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  31. What I’d most look forward to if you were changed into a vampire and what I’d miss the most? Well, I’m a huge klutz and I don’t think vampires bruise so that’d be a bonus! 😀 As for what I’d miss, that’d be the taste of food.

    un_pissenlit (at) hotmail (dot) com

    Comment by Jacqueline | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  32. I would look forward to being able to live forever and stay just as I am. It’s not that I dread getting old or mourn the eventual death waiting for me, I just think it would be awesome to be a witness to history.

    I would miss the day! Hot summer days at the beach or park, getting warm under the sun.

    Also, I subscribe through Google Reader.

    Comment by Valorie | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  33. I would miss chocolate and ice cream. I would look forward to the beautiful forever thing. I’ve just subscribed too. jac8604(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Comment by Jacqueline C. | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  34. I would miss eating yummy food the most, and what I would look forward to the most would be finally having enough time to read all the books in my TBR mountains! 🙂

    I just sent a subscription request for your blog.

    karenwitkowski AT aol.com

    Comment by Karen W. | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  35. Most look forward to strength/long life , miss most EATING

    Comment by BreiaB | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  36. well drinking blood, might be yucky!
    but it outweighs, living for a very long time, and all., getting to go any and every where, due to no time restraint

    i just hope my legs are shaved when im turned LOL

    Comment by tami blackroze37 | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  37. I should note that my vampires can eat what they want, although they also crave blood. To quote Mallory, “Blood’s just like another vitamin or something.” So, all of you who feared the loss of cookies and pizza and ice cream, never fear. Plus, you don’t gain weight as a vampire in my world, so, as Merit might say, you can eat all the bacon you want… 🙂

    Comment by Chloe | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  38. Hi Chloe and Judi,

    If I were changed into a vamp,I’d look forward to getting the fit body.( Bite=Automatic size 9=Yay Me! 😀 )

    I would miss baking on the beach though.

    Hugs,Danette

    Comment by Danette | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  39. I’m always interested to learn how writers go about creating their stories. Thanks for the great post.

    Now the vampire question.

    As a vampire I would be gorgeous, rich, never get sick, could really enjoy the night life, but I would not like outliving all my friends and family, nor do I think I would care for the taste of blood. Maybe I wouldn’t make such a great vampire.

    Comment by Patricia | June 10, 2009 | Reply

  40. Hi I would look forward to living a long time if I was a Vampire. I’d miss the sunshine and not being able to look in a mirror. That would really irritate me. Cheers
    MarionG
    polo-puppy-fluffy AT hotmail Dot com

    Comment by Marion G. | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  41. If you are prepared to ship worldwide then please enter me in the giveaway.
    Thank you.

    Carol

    Comment by Carol Thompson | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  42. Oh it would have to be being immortal and the extras you get also!! The draw back would be the sunlight of course!!

    Comment by Jamie | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  43. Most looking forward to – Good eyesight because mine is terrible

    What I would most miss – Sunlight.

    Comment by gwen | June 13, 2009 | Reply

  44. I think being a vampire I would look forward to all the enhanced abilities. Speed, strength, looking young forever. Of course then the downsides would be watching the ones I love age and die, and living forever–yeah, it’s a plus and a negative. I would watch the world crumble and that’s not really something I want to see. But the eternal life part would be awesome along with strength and speed as along as I had someone to share it with so I don’t go insane with the loneliness.

    Comment by Jessica | June 13, 2009 | Reply

  45. I would love the idea that I wouldn’t die so I would have time to explore the whole world and read until my heart’s content. I wouldn’t like having everyone I ever know die before me.

    rsgrandinetti(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Renee G | June 13, 2009 | Reply

  46. Hmm, you know I’d never thought about it before even though I read lots of Vampire books, but I think I’d most enjoy sleeping all day LOL, that’s of course if I was one of those Vampires. I’ve read so many different types, if they aren’t the sleep all day kind then it would be the perfect bodies they all have! I’d love to have a perfect body! LOL

    Comment by Alaine Bucknall | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  47. I would sure miss eating, mmm I love chocolate. It depends do they sleep, cos I do like that too. hard to say since all vampire lore i different

    blodeuedd1 at gmail dot com

    Comment by blodeuedd | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  48. I would like having all the time to do the things I never seem to have time to now (reading, craft projects, traveling, etc). I would miss spending the day with family and it would be sad to live longer then my family and friends.

    Comment by Lisa N. | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  49. It would be cool to be able to live forever. On the downside I would really miss the sunlight

    “Canadian Contests, Freebies, Coupons, Deals, Games and Fun:
    CoolCanucks.ca”

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Comment by Belinda McNabb | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  50. I am a new subscriber to your feed

    “Canadian Contests, Freebies, Coupons, Deals, Games and Fun:
    CoolCanucks.ca”

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Comment by Belinda McNabb | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  51. i would miss sunlight and the people that predecease me. I would most like the increased strength and long life.

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

    Comment by gaby317 | June 15, 2009 | Reply

  52. Great contest! If I were changed into a vampire, I would most look forward to the strength. I would miss food the most.

    k8_a_723@hotmail.com

    Comment by Kate A | June 16, 2009 | Reply

  53. I would look forward to the long lifespan but I would miss eating real food.

    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

    Comment by Raelena | June 16, 2009 | Reply

  54. I would definitely look forward to the endless nights of staying up and roaming the countries with accelerated speed and the power that you have and plus the fact that you just done AGE. I would miss ironically enough the sleep and the FOOD 🙂

    Comment by kingducky | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  55. […] only a few more days left to get in on the contest at Sidhe Vicious. She’s giving away an autographed copy of Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill. This is fabulous, so make sure you get over […]

    Pingback by More Contests Than Anything | Literary Escapism | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  56. I look forward to the amazing abilities I can gain as a vampires including enhance strength and longevity. However, I would miss the food. Not being able to eat a chocolate fudge brownie would be heartbreaking.

    okibi_insanity[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Comment by Sue R. | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  57. I am already a subscriber.

    Comment by Sue R. | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  58. Would most look forward to staying up all night without getting sleepy.
    Miss most sunny days on the beach.

    Comment by DEBIJOT | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  59. suscriber – verified

    Comment by DEBIJOT | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  60. Thank you so much for the interesting interview and contest! If I became a vampire I would most look forward to never aging. And I would miss enjoying regular food the most, I think. 🙂

    Comment by Angie | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  61. What a great interview! I think that the thing that I would look forward to most is being able to travel…of course, this would only be possible if after being turned..I suddenly became wealthy. What I would miss most…not sure, but I would really hate to see my family age around me and for me to stay the same.

    Comment by Lori T | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  62. I would love having vampire powers like super strength and speed. I’d also love that I would never age. I think I would miss eating regular food though and seeing my family and friends die one by one.

    Comment by Alexa | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  63. Hmm…I think I would most enjoy the vampire stare. Something about being able to give people the heebie jeebies without saying anything is appealing to me. I would miss my family and friends the most.

    Thanks for the contest!

    Comment by Jen | June 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment